Celebration of Buddha Jyanti

Celebration of Buddha Jyanti

Buddha Jayanti Celebration has been held on 21st May 2016 at Rajghat, New Delhi

Meeting with Honorable Dr. Mahesh Sharma , Minister of Culture and Tourism, Government of India

 Meritorious Deeds

Meritorious Deeds

He delights here, He delights hereafter, The doer of good delights in both the world, \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"thinking I have done good\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\", even he delights more when passed away to the next world.

1st International Buddhist Conference held on 7th to 9th May 2018 in Guwahati, Assam, India


Qualities of Ariyas

There are four kinds of Ariyas (1) Sotapanna (2) Sakadagami (3) Anāgāmi (4) Arahant


(1)  A Stream-enterer (Sotapanna) is free from:

  • 1. Identity view (sakkāya-ditthi)
  • 2. Attachment to rites and rituals (sīlabbata-parāmāsa)
  • 3. Doubt about the teachings (vicikicchā)

(2)  A Once-returner (Sakadagami) has greatly attenuated:

  • 4. Sensual desire (Kāma-rāga)
  • 5. Ill will (Byāpāda)

(3)  A Non-returner (Anāgāmi) is free from:

  • 4. Sensual desire (Kāma-rāga)
  • 5. Ill will (Byāpāda)

(4)  An Arahant is free from all of the five lower fetters and the five higher fetters, which are:

  • 6. Craving for prosperity in the material world (Rūparāga)
  • 7. Craving for existence in the ideal world (Arūparāga)
  • 8. Conceit (Māna)
  • 9. Restlessness (Uddhacca)
  • 10. Ignorance (Avijjā)

Stream-enterer (Sotapanna)

The first stage is that of Sotāpanna (Pali; Sanskrit: Srotāpanna), literally meaning “one who enters (āpadyate) the stream (sotas),” with the stream being the Noble Eightfold Path regarded as the highest Dhamma. The stream-enterer is also said to have “opened the eye of the Dharma” (dhammacakkhu, Sanskrit: dharmacakṣus). A stream-enterer is guaranteed enlightenment after no more than seven successive rebirths, and possibly in fewer. The stream-enterer can also be sure that he will not be reborn in any of the unhappy states or rebirths (an animal, a peta, or in hell). He can only be reborn as a human being, or in a heaven. The stream-enterer has attained an intuitive grasp of Buddhist doctrine (samyagdṛṣṭi or sammādiṭṭhi, “right view”), has complete confidence or Saddha in the Three Jewels of Buddha, Dhamma, and Sangha, and has good moral behavior (Sila).

Once-returner (Sakadagami)

The second stage is that of the Sakadāgāmī (Sanskrit: Sakṛdāgāmin), literally meaning “one who once (sakṛt) comes (āgacchati)”. The once-returner will return to the human world only one more time, and will attain Nibbana in that life.


Never-returner  (Anāgāmi)

The third stage is that of the Anāgāmī (Sanskrit: Anāgāmin), literally meaning “one who does not (an-) come (āgacchati)”. The non-returner does not come back into human existence, or any lower world, after death. Instead, he is reborn in one of the worlds of the Rūpadhātu called the Śuddhāvāsa worlds (suddhavasa Bhramma loka), or “Pure Abodes”, where he will attain Nibbana, some of them are reborn a second time in a higher world of the Pure Abodes, but in no case are born into a lower state. An Anāgāmī has abandoned the five lower fetters that bind the mind to the cycle of rebirth. An Anāgāmī is thus partially enlightened, and on the way to perfect and complete Enlightenment.


The fourth stage is that of Arahant, a fully enlightened human being who has abandoned all fetters, and who upon decease (Sanskrit: Parinirvāṇa, Pāli: Parinibbāna) will not be reborn in any world, having wholly abandoned saṃsāra.